Wait! It’s actually T-6! We leave a week from yesterday! Holy good lord… So, yeah, 5 weeks away beginning next Sunday. Luckily, we have someone in the house for that whole time so we don’t have to worry about mail, papers, watering plants, etc. However, I don’t think I’ve ever in my adult life taken a trip so there are still a lot of things to consider. Like, say, cleaning out the fridge, activities for the kids and how to manage the DVR for that whole time. (And, yes, that last one is a big deal to me!)

I’m also trying to make sure the computers are backed up, various devices are linked and vegetables in garden are properly spoken for. The frightening thing is that today is the last full day to get all the errands done–but I know I’m missing things. (And it didn’t help that we had a full family trip to the pediatrician’s office in the middle of it all due to a stiff neck and sudden headache. Thank all the various deities that it was a muscle strain and not, God forbid, meningitis. Double yay for wonderful on-call physicians who pick up the phone at 11:40 on a holiday and say, come on in.) We are majorly crossing out fingers that that is the only medical issue that arises between now and our return home, James’s rash and Will’s (newly returned) tics, notwithstanding. (I’m trying not to stress that the head shakes and throat-clearing thing are back. Given the end of the school year, the impending big vacation and all-around craziness, I know we’re due.)

So, still left to do:

  • one more Target trip
  • ship dresses, dress-up stuff and shoes
  • set up mifi (that hopefully arrived on Friday)
  • hope new new camera arrives on time (as opposed to old new camera that I didn’t love)
  • find all my shorts and capris that have somehow disappeared
  • organize all the bathing suits and things
  • set up the journals

There’s other stuff around the house and for work, but I think that’s the big stuff. And, of course, we still have some trip things to finalize. Like figuring out some of the things we’ll actually hit once we get to our various destinations. So, first stop: Portland, ME. I’ve already sussed out that there’s a Pirate’s Cove not too far away. We’ll also have to figure out the baby backpack thing (mini-golf with a baby is always interesting, albeit a little less so than with a toddler, thank goodness), but I’m letting Kelley handle that one.

