Check it out – two posts in one day!

We transferred all the pumpkin and sunflower seedlings to the side of the house today. Well, rather, I transferred them while Lucy and Will helped by weeding. (Which, incidentally was quite cute. Of course, as I put them to bed I found that they had both eaten various snacks/dessert without washing their hands first. I now find myself wondering if there is a possibility that the weeds they pulled were poisonous — I mean, I know they’re not foxglove, and I know they’re not random mushrooms, but I will most certainly be doing breathing checks tonight before I go to bed.) Since the forecast predicts rain every day for at least the next week, I’m not feeling overly optimistic that, come fall, there will be a thriving pumpkin patch; at the same time, I will keep my fingers crossed.

Hopefully there will be enough sun at some point over the next week to plant the rest of the seedlings. I’m afraid that if they stay in those flats for too much longer they’re all going to go to that compost pile in the sky. (Or maybe just the compost pile in the backyard. Much easier to get to.)

