Kelley had the van last night, so when I got into the car this morning, talk radio was on. How bad could it be? I thought. The first leg of my trip was barely a mile, so I figured I could handle it.

MISTAKE. The two commentators were talking about the Hilary speech at last night’s convention. Now, granted, I didn’t actually watch it. I did read some coverage of it in the paper that made it seem like it was pretty convincing in terms of throwing her support towards Obama. From the radio, though, it seemed like it was the most half-hearted, completely unpersuasive speech ever and that it was clear to everyone that she was just preparing for 2012.

As I said above, I didn’t actually watch the speech. Just from listening to these two people though, oh, my goodness. It was a man and a woman. The woman couldn’t stop talking about how she just didn’t buy that Hilary was behind Obama at all, and that most of the women in the party — “the Sisterhood” it’s apparently called — was clearly not convinced either. And, in fact, the Sisterhood was strategically throwing their support behind John McCain, so that they could then put a Democrat in the White House in 2012.

Now, I have to be honest. I was disappointed when Obama chose Biden. It’s probably a much wiser choice than some of the others out there, but those photos of Barack and Hilary together gave me chills. I realize that she is not everyone’s favorite person, but wow. That was truly amazing. And although I do understand that there are many reasons that just couldn’t work, there do seem to be other women out there who could have filled the role. So, yes, I was a little sad.

But to vote for John McCain? To strategically vote for John McCain in order to be able to vote for a Democrat in 2012? Are there seriously people out there doing that? I’m sure there are many reasons people have for making their choices and I’m equally sure that someone will enlighten me. Until then, however, I will just shake my head in wonder and loudly say, Obama/Biden, I’m there.

